Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Philharmonia - Stravinsky, Tchaikovsky (part 2)

Vladimir Ashkenazy conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra in a Russian programme of music by Stravinsky plus Tchaikovsky's 'Manfred' Symphony.

Live from the Royal Festival Hall, London. Introduced by Sara Mohr-Pietsch.

Stravinsky: Four Norwegian Moods

Stravinsky: Violin Concerto


8.25: part 2

Tchaikovsky: Manfred Symphony

Patricia Kopatchinskaja (violin)
Philharmonia Orchestra
Vladimir Ashkenazy (conductor)

The Philharmonia's Conductor Laureate leads the orchestra in a programme culminating in Tchaikovsky's Manfred Symphony, a programmatic piece based on the poem by Lord Byron. It's a love it or hate it piece: Toscanini considered it Tchaikovsky's greatest work, while Bernstein condemned it as 'trash'. The first half starts with Stravinsky's music for a projected Hollywood film about the Nazi invasion of Norway, which he recycled as a short suite. Young Moldovan violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja plays Stravinsky's Violin Concerto, a neoclassical piece from 1931.

Release date:

1 hour, 35 minutes

Last on

Thu 17 Oct 2013 20:25

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.