Playing: Musikalische Exequien SWV.279-81 by Heinrich Schütz
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Scottish Chamber Orchestra - Dvorak, Saint-Saens, Mendelssohn

The Scottish Chamber Orchestra, with Sharon Robinson and Jaime Laredo, play Dvorák, Saint-Saëns and Mendelssohn's Scottish Symphony.

Live from Younger Hall, St. Andrews

Dvorák: Romance
Saint-Saëns: The Muse and the Poet

8.15: Interval

Dvorák: Silent Woods
Mendelssohn: Symphony No 3 'Scottish'

Sharon Robinson, cello
Jaime Laredo, conductor/violin

An atmospheric programme from the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, one that paints Romantic landscapes from Bohemia to Scotland. Husband and wife, Laredo and Robinson have been performing with the SCO for decades; the first half puts each of them in the solo spotlight and also brings them together for Saint-Saëns's rapturous The Muse and the Poet. Mendelssohn's 'Scottish' Symphony, inspired by a visit he made to the country as a young man, completes the programme.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Wed 16 Oct 2013 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss