Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

New Music From the North

Ivan Hewett presents new music from the Nordic countries, with more highlights from the BBC Symphony Orchestra's Total Immersion event New from the North and the first London Ear Festival of Contemporary Music, in performances by Nordic Voices, Bit20, Vertavo Quartet, and the BBC Singers.

Jouni Kaipainen: String Quartet No 6, 'The Terror Run' (BBC Commission, UK premiere)
Vertavo Quartet

Cecile Ore: Schwirren (UK premiere)
Nordic Voices

Arne Nordheim: Response IV
BIT20 Percussion

Esa-Pekka Salonen: Kiss my mouth (Two Songs from 'Kalender Röd', no. 1)
Per Norgard: Wie ein Kind
BBC Singers
Conductor James Morgan

Kaija Saariaho: Terra Memoria
Vertavo Quartet.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sat 5 Oct 2013 22:30

New Music on Radio 3

Kurt Schwertsik: Baumgesänge (Tree Songs)

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.