Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra - Wagner, Rachmaninov (part 2)

Jac van Steen conducts the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra in Wagner extracts and in Rachmaninov's Third Concerto, with pianist Valentina Lisitsa.

Live from the Lighthouse, Poole

Presented by Martin Handley

Wagner: Die Meistersinger Overture
Wagner: Das Rheingold: Entrance of the Gods
Wagner: Tannhauser: Grand March
Wagner: Tristan and Isolde: Prelude and Liebestod

8.15: Interval

Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.3

Valentina Lisitsa, piano
Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
Jac van Steen, conductor

Marking 200 years since his birth, the concert begins with four of Wagner's most celebrated operatic moments, including the Mastersingers Overture, the March from Tannhäuser, the Entrance of the Gods from Das Rheingold, and the delicate yearning of Tristan and Isolde's doomed love affair. The astonishingly difficult pianistic gymnastics of Rachmaninov's Third Concerto are second nature to the virtuoso pianist Valentina Lisitsa.

Release date:

1 hour, 25 minutes

Last on

Wed 2 Oct 2013 20:35

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.