Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC Philharmonic - Burgess, Brahms, Elgar

Live from The Bridgewater Hall in Manchester

Presented by Catherine Bott

The BBC Philharmonic, conducted by Juanjo Mena, performs Anthony Burgess's A Manchester Overture, Brahms's Piano Concerto No 1 with Stephen Hough and Elgar's Symphony No 1.

Burgess: A Manchester Overture
Brahms: Piano Concerto No 1 in D minor

8.35 Interval Music

Elgar: Symphony No 1 in A flat

BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena (conductor)
Stephen Hough (piano)

When Elgar's First Symphony was premiered in Manchester in 1908, it was a new dawn for British music. There's no better way to launch the BBC Philharmonic's year-long celebration of the Mancunian way of music-making than with this gloriously stirring masterpiece - although a performance of Brahms's tempestuous First Piano Concerto by the Manchester-trained Stephen Hough might just run it close. The concert begins with the aptly named A Manchester Overture by Mancunian icon and author of A Clockwork Orange, Anthony Burgess.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Sat 28 Sep 2013 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.