Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

CBSO - Tchaikovsky (part 2)

Live from Symphony Hall, Birmingham

Presented by Tom McKinney

The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Andris Nelsons, plays Tchaikovsky's Rococo Variations - with Daniel Müller-Schott as cello soloist - and the Manfred Symphony.

Tchaikovsky: Marche Slave
Tchaikovsky: Rococo Variations

8.05: Interval

Tchaikovsky: Manfred Symphony

Daniel Müller-Schott: cello
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Andris Nelsons: conductor

Tormented by forbidden desires, Byron's Manfred takes to the mountains to battle his demons. Tchaikovsky knew exactly how he felt, and poured everything into fifty minutes of the rawest, most personal and most passionate music he ever wrote. It's certainly a powerful contrast to the stirring Marche Slave and the jewel-like Rococo Variations, here played by Daniel Müller-Schott.

Release date:

1 hour, 35 minutes

Last on

Wed 25 Sep 2013 20:25

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.