iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Intermezzo from Stimmungsbilder (Op.9 No.3) by Richard Strauss
Image for BBC SSO - Elgar, Mozart (part 1)

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC SSO - Elgar, Mozart (part 1)

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Thursday 26 September 2013

Live from City Halls in Glasgow

Presented by Jamie MacDougall

The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, with Chief Conductor Donald Runnicles, perform two of the favourite pieces in the repertoire: Elgar's Cello Concerto and Mozart's Requiem. They are joined by international soloists and the National Youth Choir of Scotland.

Elgar: Cello Concerto


Mozart: Requiem

Alisa Weilerstein, cello
Miah Persson, soprano
Ruxandra Donose, mezzo-soprano
Jeremy Ovenden, tenor
Neal Davies, bass
National Youth Choir of Scotland
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Donald Runnicles, conductor

Mozart's unfinished Requiem is one of the best-loved masterpieces of classical choral music. But strip away the rumours, legends and the layers of alterations, and it turns out that the piece we usually hear is only half the story. Donald Runnicles directs the acclaimed National Youth Choir of Scotland and a quartet of world-class soloists in a revelatory new completion of the Requiem prepared, with a creator's insight, by the great Canadian Mozartian Robert Levin. Hear this transcendent music with new ears - and savour the intense commitment that the young American cellist Alisa Weilerstein brings to Elgar's war requiem of a cello concerto.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss