Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Chamber Orchestra of Europe - Strauss, Mozart, Beethoven

The Chamber Orchestra of Europe conducted by Yannick Nézet-Séguin, delves further into the richly contrasting worlds of Strauss and Beethoven in this second concert from The Usher Hall, Edinburgh.

The concert begins with Strauss's striking combination of clarinet, bassoon and strings in the lyrical 'Duett Concertino' which highlights the talents of the Orchestra's soloists and harks back to the charm of Mozart. It is Mozart's inspirational Sinfonia Concertante for Violin and Viola, with its effortless melodic invention which concludes the first part of this Edinburgh International Festival concert.

After the interval, the COE perform Beethoven's optimistic and energetic Seventh Symphony, which Wagner called 'the apotheosis of the dance'.


Part 1

Strauss - Duet Concertino 'AV147'

Mozart - Sinfonia Concertante for Violin and Viola in E-flat K 364


Part 2

Beethoven - Symphony No 7 in A Op. 92

Romain Guyot (Clarinet)
Matthew Wilkie (Bassoon)
Lorenza Borrani (Violin)
Pascal Siffert (Viola)
Chamber Orchestra of Europe
Yannick Nézet-Séguin (Conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Tue 10 Sep 2013 19:30