Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 3

Katie Derham continues her exploration of the work of some of Europe's leading Baroque musicians with a solo cantata by JS Bach. And Christian Thielmann conducts the renowned Dresden Staatskapelle in Brahms's Third Symphony.

Bach trans Stokowski: Fugue in C minor, BWV 847, from 'Das wohltemperierte
Hindemith Rag Time (wohltemperiert)
MDR Symphony Orchestra, Kristjan Järvi (conductor)

Bach: Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten, BWV 202
Johannette Zomer (soprano), Akademie für alte Musik, Berlin

Brahms: Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90
Dresden Staatskapelle, Christian Thielmann (conductor)

3.15pm Fasch: Lamento for Two Oboes, Two Flutes, Clarinet and Strings
Dresden Staatskapelle (conductor).

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Wed 11 Sep 2013 14:00