Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Prom 69 (part 2): Beethoven & Bruckner

BBC Proms, 2013 Season, Prom 69 Episode 2 of 2

The Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra and Vasily Petrenko, live at the BBC Proms, play Bruckner's Fourth Symphony, and, with Christian Ihle Hadland, Beethoven's Second Piano Concerto.

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Andrew McGregor

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major

7.35pm Interval

Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 in E flat major, 'Romantic'

Christian Ihle Hadland (piano)
Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko (conductor)

In their second Proms appearance this summer Vasily Petrenko and the Oslo Philharmonic explore the Romantic landscape and Schubertian echoes of Bruckner's Fourth Symphony. Repeatedly revised by the composer during his lifetime, the symphony opens with a radiant sunrise.
Last heard playing Brahms with the Signum Quartet (PCM 7), Christian Ihle Hadland joins Petrenko and the orchestra for Beethoven's Second Piano Concerto, built on the Mozartian model but already pointing to the bold gestures of the composer's maturity.

Release date:

1 hour, 20 minutes

Last on

Tue 3 Sep 2013 19:55

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen live or catch up