Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Prom 67: Arvo Part, Britten, Berlioz & Saint-Saens

Another chance to hear Arvo Pärt, Britten, Berlioz and Saint-Saëns performed by the Orchestre de Paris and Paavo Järvi live at the BBC Proms with Janine Jansen as soloist in Britten's Violin Concerto
Presented by Martin Handley from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Louise Fryer

Pärt: Cantus in memoriam Benjamin Britten
Britten: Violin Concerto

Berlioz: Overture 'Le corsaire'
Saint-Saëns: Symphony No. 3 in C minor, 'Organ'

Janine Jansen (violin)
Thierry Escaich (organ)
Orchestre de Paris
Paavo Järvi (conductor)

The Cantus in memoriam Benjamin Britten was written by Arvo Pärt in response to his sense of loss for a composer he had never met but whose music he describes as possessing the "unusual purity" he himself sought as a composer. Britten's own Violin Concerto was written during the composer's war-time years in New York, "I feel so deeply about this experiences the incredible strength of it" says tonight's soloist Janine Jansen. In the second half of the concert Paavo Järvi leads his Orchestre de Paris in two French works: firstly the Mediterranean swagger of Berlioz's overture 'Le corsaire' and then the weight of full orchestra and organ in Saint-Saëns 'Third Symphony' which concludes a concert that journeys from Estonian introspection to Gallic extrovert display.

Plus highlights from last year's City of London Festival.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 6 Sep 2013 14:00