Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Prom 68 (part 2): Tchaikovsky, Szymanowski & Rachmaninov

BBC Proms, 2013 Season, Prom 68 Episode 2 of 2

The Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra and Vasily Petrenko, live at the BBC Proms, play Tchaikovsky's First Symphony, Szymanowski's First Violin Concerto (with Baiba Skride as soloist) and Rachmaninov's Symphonic Dances.

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Andrew McGregor

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 1 in G minor, 'Winter Daydreams'

8.10 pm Interval

Szymanowski: Violin Concerto No.1
Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances

Baiba Skride (violin)
Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko (conductor)

Proms debut violinist Baiba Skride joins the Oslo Philharmonic and its new Chief Conductor, Vasily Petrenko, to continue the Proms focus on Polish music in their performance of Szymanowski's Violin Concerto No. 1, an opulent nocturnal fantasy from a composer enchanted by the sound-worlds of North Africa and the southern Mediterranean, and inspired by the 'amorous conflagration' of Tadeusz Micinski's poem 'May Night'.
Tchaikovsky's youthful Symphony No. 1, 'Winter Daydreams', and Rachmaninov's nostalgic final work, the Symphonic Dances of 1940, frame the concerto in a programme rich with dreams.

Release date:

1 hour, 35 minutes

Last on

Mon 2 Sep 2013 20:35

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen live or catch up