Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Woman at War

Award-winning four-part documentary series, examining Margaret Thatcher's 11 years as Prime Minister. The first programme looks at how she rejected the postwar consensus that had governed the country for more than 30 years, and came into conflict with trade unions, the old establishment and even members of her own cabinet. Yet even as the country moved into a crippling recession, the Prime Minister refused to make a U-turn in policy.

Release date:

1 hour

Last on

Sat 17 Aug 2013 20:10

From grocer’s daughter to Iron Lady

Margaret Thatcher

Watch ten key moments of Thatcher's life and career on BBC History