Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Prom 61 (part 1): Stravinsky, Brahms and Charlotte Seither

BBC Proms, 2013 Season, Prom 61 Episode 1 of 2

BBC Symphony Orchestra, BBC Singers and Josep Pons live at the BBC Proms. Stravinsky's Petrushka, a new work by Seither, and Frank Peter Zimmerman plays Brahms's much-loved Violin Concerto.

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Louise Fryer

German composer Charlotte Seither adapts the words of the 17th-century poet Francesco de Lemene in a new work for the BBC Singers and the BBC Symphony Orchestra, using voices and syllables as spots of 'human colour'. Josep Pons conducts this world premiere alongside the 1947 version of Stravinsky's Petrushka, the a cappella motets Ave Maria and Pater noster, and the four-minute novelty Scherzo à la russe, written in Hollywood for the bandleader Paul Whiteman.

Another German, the distinguished violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann, plays the concerto that Johannes Brahms composed for his great friend, Joseph Joachim.

Stravinsky: Scherzo à la Russe
Stravinsky: Ave Maria
Stravinsky: Pater noster
Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major

7:50pm Interval

Charlotte Seither: Language of Leaving (BBC Commission: world premiere)
Stravinsky: Petrushka (1947)

Frank Peter Zimmermann (violin)
BBC Singers
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Josep Pons (conductor)

This Prom will be repeated on Monday 2nd September at 2pm.

Release date:

50 minutes

Last on

Wed 28 Aug 2013 19:00

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen live or catch up