On Now : Afternoon on 3
Playing: Concerto no. 17 in G major K.453 for piano and orchestra by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Moscow-born pianist Nikolai Lugansky tackles some of the instrument's most challenging repertoire in this live Edinburgh Festival Performance, from Rachmaninov's volcanic Etudes-Tableaux to Liszt's arrangement of Wagner's Liebestod.

Janáçek: In the Mists, JW8/22
Schubert: Four Impromptus, D935

11.55 Interval

Rachmaninov: Etude-tableau in C major, Op.33 No. 2
Rachmaninov: Etude-tableau in D minor, Op.33 No. 5
Rachmaninov: Etude-tableau in B minor, Op.39 No. 4
Rachmaninov: Etude-tableau in E flat minor, Op.39 No. 5
Rachmaninov: Etude-tableau in A minor, Op.39 No. 6
Liszt: Les jeux d'eaux à la Villa d'Este (Années de Pèlerinage)
Liszt: Isolde's Liebestod

Nikolai Lugansky - piano.

2 hours

Last on

Thu 15 Aug 2013 11:00
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss