Drug users and enforcement; 'Militant' Liverpool

Drug enforcement - does it change the drugs market? Laurie Taylor talks to Neil McKeganey about his research into police crackdowns on illegal drugs in 3 different areas of the UK. The researchers interviewed local heroin users to establish their views and experience of police activity. Although most had found raids to be shocking and distressing, this had little impact on the price or availability of illegal drugs locally. Also, the sociologist, Diana Frost, explores Militant Tendency's domination of Liverpool politics in the 1980s. Interviewing key protagonists of the time, she uncovers mixed memories of a 'city on the edge'.

Producer: Jayne Egerton.

Release date:

Available now

28 minutes

Last on

Mon 19 Aug 2013 00:15

Neil McKeganey

Director of the Centre for Drug Misuse Research in Glasgow



Find out more about Neil McKeganey



Nicked: drug users’ views of drug enforcement”

by Neil McKeganey and Joe McGallagly
Journal of Substance Use
2013, Vol. 18, No. 4 , Pages 320-334

Diane Frost

Lecturer in Sociology at the University of Liverpool



Find out more about Dr Diane Frost



Militant Liverpool: A City on the Edge
Diane Frost, Peter North (authors)
Publisher: Liverpool University Press
ISBN-10: 1846318637
ISBN-13: 978-1846318634

Ethnography Award

Thinking Allowed in association with the British Sociological Association announces a new annual award for a study that has made a significant contribution to ethnography: the in-depth analysis of the everyday life of a culture or sub-culture.


Are you involved in social science research and completing or will have completed an ethnography this year? The Award is open to any UK resident currently employed as a teacher or researcher or studying as a postgraduate in a UK institution of higher education.


An entry should be a completed ethnography, a qualitative research project which provides a detailed description of the practices of a group or culture. Any sole authored book or peer reviewed research article published during the calendar year of the award will be eligible.


The judges for the Award are Professor Dick Hobbs, Professor Henrietta Moore, Dr Louise Westmarland, Professor Bev Skeggs. The Chair is Professor Laurie Taylor. (Please do not contact any judges directly).



Find out more on how to participate

Download this programme

Download this episode

Subscribe to this programme or download individual episodes.