iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Piano Sonata in C sharp Op27 No 2 'Moonlight.' by Ludwig van Beethoven
Image for Prom 32: Lutoslawski & Holst

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Prom 32: Lutoslawski & Holst

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Friday 09 August 2013

with Louise Fryer - the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Edward Gardner perform music by Holst, including The Planets,at Wednesday's BBC Proms. Louis Lortie is the soloist in Lutoslawski's Piano Concerto.

Presented by Suzy Klein at the Royal Albert Hall, London

Lutoslawski: Symphonic Variations
Holst: Egdon Heath
c. 2.25pm
Lutoslawski: Piano Concerto
c. 2.45pm
Holst: The Planets

Louis Lortie (piano)
BBC Symphony Chorus (women's voices)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Edward Gardner (conductor)

Completed shortly before the occupation of Poland, Lutoslawski's Symphonic Variations is juxtaposed with Holst's rarely heard tribute to Thomas Hardy, Egdon Heath. Louis Lortie is the soloist in Lutoslawski's monumental 1988 Piano Concerto in a concert that closes with Holst's extraordinarily visionary suite, The Planets.
Leading champion of Lutoslawski's music and Music Director of English National Opera, Edward Gardner conducts the BBC Symphony Orchestra in a programme contrasting one each of the Polish composer's earliest and latest works with music by the British composer Gustav Holst.

Plus Igor Levit performs Beethoven's Piano Sonata no.31 in A flat major, Op.110.

Music Played

6 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes


Music and The Great War on BBC Playlister


Explore the story of World War One through the music of the time with BBC Playlister.

Free download

  1. Image for Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Guide to the Opera

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss