iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Sextet for 2 clarinets, 2 french horns and 2 bassoons in E flat major by Georg Druschetsky
Image for Prom 30: Borodin, Prokofiev, Cowie, Tchaikovsky

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Prom 30: Borodin, Prokofiev, Cowie, Tchaikovsky

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Tuesday 06 August 2013

with Louise Fryer - a second chance to hear the BBC Philharmonic and Gianandrea Noseda heard at the BBC Proms in Borodin, Edward Cowie and Tchaikovsky and Jean-Efflam Bavouzet joins them for Prokofiev's Piano Concerto no. 2
Presented at the Royal Albert Hall, London by Katie Derham

Borodin: Overture and Polovtsian Dances from 'Prince Igor'
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 2

at c.3pm
Edward Cowie: Earth Music 1: The Great Barrier Reef (BBC commission: world premiere)
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No 2 in C minor, 'Little Russian'

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet (piano)
BBC Philharmonic
Gianandrea Noseda (conductor)

Borodin's overture to 'Prince Igor' opens a programme celebrating the 70th birthday of composer Edward Cowie and the close musical relationship between the BBC Philharmonic, their Conductor Laureate Gianandrea Noseda and pianist Jean-Efflam Bavouzet. Bavouzet plays Prokofiev's brilliant Second Piano Concerto, its original score destroyed in the Russian Revolution and revised by the composer in Paris in 1923. The fragile beauty of the Great Barrier Reef is the subject of Edward Cowie's Earth Music 1, while the 'Little Russian' continues the season's Tchaikovsky symphony cycle.

Plus Igor Levit performs Beethoven's Piano Sonata no.30 in E major. Op.109.

Music Played

1 item
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes



  1. Image for Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Guide to the Opera

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss