Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Prom 27 (part 1): Naresh Sohal, Rachmaninov & Tchaikovsky

BBC Proms, 2013, Prom 27 Episode 1 of 3

The Royal Scottish National Orchestra and Peter Oundjian live at the BBC Proms, continuing the Proms Tchaikovsky symphony cycle with the Fifth, and Rachmaninov's Third Piano Concerto.

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London
Presented by Clemency Burton-Hill

Sohal: The Cosmic Dance (BBC commission: world premiere)

8.15pm Interval

Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor

9.25pm Interval

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 in E minor

Nikolai Lugansky (piano)
Royal Scottish National Orchestra
Peter Oundjian (conductor)

The Proms Tchaikovsky symphony cycle continues with a performance of the melancholy Fifth Symphony. The Royal Scottish National Orchestra is conducted by Peter Oundjian who makes his Proms debut. The concert begins with a commission by Punjabi-born British composer Naresh Sohal in a work which examines the idea of creation: The Cosmic Dance. The second part of the concert is devoted to Rachmaninov's hugely demanding Third Piano Concerto, its haunting opening melody based on an old traditional Russian chant. Russian pianist Nikolai Lugansky is the soloist.

An edited version of this Prom will be broadcast on Sunday 4th August at 2pm.

Release date:

45 minutes

Last on

Fri 2 Aug 2013 19:30

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen live or catch up