iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Christian Ihle Hadland

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Christian Ihle Hadland

58 minutes
First broadcast:
Thursday 25 July 2013

Christian Ihle Hadland is one of Norway's most exciting young pianists. He continues the Ulster Hall Piano Series with a programme of Bach, Berg and Beethoven. At the heart of the concert is Berg's Opus 1 - a sonata which the composer initially intended to have a traditional three movement structure. After completing the first movement however he struggled to continue and turned to his teacher Arnold Schoenberg for advice. Schoenberg concluded that his pupil had simply said all there was to say.

Bach: French Suite No.6 in E major
Berg: Sonata, Op. 1
Beethoven: Sonata no.18 in E flat major, Op.31 No.3

Christian Ihle Hadland, piano.

Music Played

3 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.