Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Live from Stationers' Hall, London

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Northern Irish pianist Barry Douglas brings two epic works for piano to the City of London Festival - the final sonata Schubert completed and Brahms's 3rd sonata, both written on a grand scale. The programme opens with a selection of Janacek's piano miniatures which contain some of his most personal thoughts.

Schubert: Sonata no.21 in B flat major, D.960

Barry Douglas (piano)

Connecting with the Festival's ongoing environmental themes, Janáček's nostalgic On an Overgrown Path focuses on the countryside of the composers' homeland and represents the passage of time, the death of his two children and his artistic isolation. The other two works are on a grander scale: Brahms's early Sonata follows a large-scale five movement structure and breathes new life into a form that was so important to his idol, Beethoven. Schubert's Sonata in B flat, his last before his death, explores immensity of a different kind - vast and lyrical, this work traverses a range of moods from desolation to hope and ends with whimsical optimism.

Release date:

1 hour, 20 minutes

Last on

Wed 26 Jun 2013 20:40

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.