On Now : In Tune
Playing: Allegro from Sonata for violin & continuo in C minor by Johann George Pisendel
Image for Christian Ihle Hadland

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Christian Ihle Hadland

58 minutes
First broadcast:
Wednesday 12 June 2013

Jonathan Swain introduces a piano recital from the Guildhall in Bath given by Norwegian pianist, Christian Ihle Hadland, one of Radio 3's New Generations Artists.
Including the extraordinary emotional intensity of Schubert's first set of impromptu's, whose powerful impact belie their improvisatory styling, and pure Russian romance from Rachmaninov's younger contemporary, Medtner.

Medtner: Sonata reminiscenza Op.38
Schubert: Four Impromptus D.899
Schumann: Variations on an Original Theme WoO.24

Christian Ihle Hadland (piano).

Music Played

3 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Image for Franz Schubert

    Franz Schubert Four Impromptus D.899 Op.90

    Performer: Christian Ihle Hadland (piano)

  • Image for Nikolai Karlovich Medtner

    Nikolai Karlovich Medtner Sonata Reminiscenza Op.38 No.1

    Performer: Christian Ihle Hadland (piano)

  • Image for Robert Schumann

    Robert Schumann Variations on an original theme WoO.24

    Christian Ihle Hadland (piano)


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss