Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

LSO St Luke's Bach, Britten, Shostakovich.

In the last of this week's series of recitals featuring Bach, Britten and Shostakovich, The Brodsky Quartet tackles all three, beginning with selected movements from Bach's extraoridnary masterpiece - The Art of Fugue. Shostakovich's quartet was dedicated to and inspired by members of the Beethoven Quartet which premiered it in 1966. The recital concludes with Britten's 3rd String Quartet, his last major work written the year before his death.
Brodsky Quartet

Bach: The Art of Fugue (Contrapuncti I & VI)
Shostakovich: String Quartet No 11 in F minor Op 122
Britten: String Quartet No 3 Op 94

Presented by Katie Derham.

Release date:

58 minutes

Last on

Fri 25 Oct 2013 13:00