iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Sextet for 2 clarinets, 2 french horns and 2 bassoons in E flat major by Georg Druschetsky
Image for 18/05/2013

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


6 hours
First broadcast:
Saturday 18 May 2013

John Shea presents piano trios by Beethoven, Ravel and Shostakovich in a recital from Warsaw.

1:01 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van (1770 -1827)
Trio for piano and strings (Op.70 no.2) in E flat major
Altenberg Trio, Vienna

1:33 AM
Shostakovich, Dmitri (1906-1975)
Trio no. 2 for piano and strings (Op.67) in E minor
Altenberg Trio, Vienna

2:00 AM
Ravel, Maurice (1875-1937)
Trio for piano and strings in A minor
Altenberg Trio, Vienna

2:25 AM
Schumann, Robert (1810-1856)
Andantino (Op.56, no.3) from Six studies in canonic form, arr piano trio
Altenberg Trio, Vienna

2:27 AM
Schumann, Robert (1810-1856)
Adagio (Op.56 no.6) from Six studies for pedal piano, arr. piano trio
Altenberg Trio, Vienna

2:32 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Orchestral Suite No.4 in D major (BWV.1069)
La Petite Bande, Sigiswald Kuijken (conductor)

2:51 AM
Schumann, Robert (1810-1856)
Variations on a Theme by Clara Wieck
Angela Cheng (piano)

3:01 AM
Vaughan Williams, Ralph (1872-1958)
Fantasia on a theme by Thomas Tallis
BBC Philharmonic, Yan Pascal Tortelier (conductor)

3:15 AM
Holst, Gustav (1874-1934)
St Paul's Suite (arr. Walsh for guitar quartet)
Guitar Trek

3:29 AM
Tchaikovsky, Pytor Il'yich (1840-1893)
Symphony no. 4 (Op. 36) in F minor
Romanian National Radio Orchestra, Alexander Rudin (conductor)

4:11 AM
Martinu, Bohuslav (1890-1959)
Sonatina for clarinet and piano
Jozef Luptacik (clarinet), Pavol Kovac (piano)

4:22 AM
Debussy, Claude (1862-1918)
La Cathédrale engloutie - from Préludes Book 1 (1910)
Philippe Cassard (piano)

4:28 AM
Bourdon, Rosario (1885-1961)
Elegiac poem for cello and orchestra
Alain Aubut (cello), Orchestre Métropolitain, Gilles Auger (conductor)

4:34 AM
Vivaldi, Antonio (1678-1741)
Nulla in mundo pax sincera for soprano and orchestra (RV.630)
Marita Kvarving Sølberg (soprano), Norwegian Radio Orchestra, Ketil Haugsand (conductor)

4:41 AM
Hasse, Johann Adolf (1699-1783)
Organ Concerto in D major
Wolfgang Brunner (organ & director), Salzburger Hofmusik

4:52 AM
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich (1840-1893)
The Nutcracker: Waltz of the Flowers
Slovenian Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra, Marko Munih (conductor)

5:01 AM
Shostakovich, Dmitry (1906-1975)
Waltz no.2 from the Jazz suite no.2
Eolina Quartet

5:05 AM
Dvorák, Antonín (1841-1904)
Prague Waltzes (Prazske valciky) (B.99)
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra Bratislava, Stefan Róbl (conductor)

5:14 AM
Smetana, Bedrich (1824-1884)
Sonata movement in E minor (B.70) - for 2 pianos, 8 hands
Else Krijgsman, Mariken Zandliver, David Kuijken, Carlos Moerdijk (pianos)

5:25 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Geistliches Wiegenlied (Op.91 No.2)
Judita Leitaite (mezzo-soprano), Arunas Statkus (viola), Andrius Vasiliauskas (piano)

5:31 AM
Gershwin, George (1898-1937)
Lullaby for string quartet
New Stenhammar String Quartet

5:40 AM
Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809)
Concerto for trumpet and orchestra in E flat major (H.7e.1)
Gyõrgy Geiger (trumpet), Hungarian Radio Orchestra, András Ligeti (conductor)

5:55 AM
Sammartini, Giuseppe (1695-1750)
Sinfonia in F
Europa Galante, Fabio Biondi (conductor)

6:03 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Quartet for piano and strings (K.478) in G major
Trio Ondine; Antoine Tamestit (viola)

6:27 AM
Schumann, Robert (1810-1856)
Theme and variations on the Name 'Abegg' (Op.1)
Seung-Hee Hyun (female) (piano)

6:36 AM
de Falla, Manuel (1876-1946)
Noches en los jardines de España
Filip Pavlov (piano), Sofia Symphony Orchestra, Ivan Marinov (conductor).

Music Played

26 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss