Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 3

With Katie Derham.

The BBC Philharmonic returned just a couple of weeks ago from Japan, and they end this Afternoon on 3 with a performance from that tour: Tchaikovsky's First Piano Concerto with Japanese pianist Nobuyuki Tsujii and Japanses conductor Yutaka Sado.

Before that, you can hear the orchestra in earlier visits to Spain and Germany: Gianandrea Noseda conducts Britten's passionate Sinfonia da Requiem in Barcelona, and his successor as the BBC Philharmonic's Chief Conductor, Juanjo Mena, conducts Schubert's Unfinished Symphony in Nuremberg.

Britten: Sinfonia da Requiem
BBC Philharmonic,
Gianandrea Noseda (conductor).

Schubert: Symphony No 8 in B minor, D 759 (Unfinished)
BBC Philharmonic,
Juanjo Mena (conductor).

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No 1
Nobuyuki Tsujii (piano),
BBC Philharmonic,
Yutaka Sado (conductor).

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Wed 15 May 2013 14:00