Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Janacek, Ravel, Stravinsky

Live from The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester.

Presented by Petroc Trelawny.

The BBC Philharmonic, conducted by Juanjo Mena, performs Janácek's Sinfonietta, Ravel's Piano Concerto in G with Louis Lortie and Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring.

Janácek: Sinfonietta
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G

20:30 Interval Music

Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

Louis Lortie (piano)
BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena (conductor)

Join Juanjo Mena and the BBC Philharmonic for the finale of the orchestra's Stravinsky ballet celebration. The evening opens in a blaze of joie de vivre, with the massed trumpets and sheer energy of Janácek's roof-raising Sinfonietta. Louis Lortie then brings his characteristic panache to Ravel's gleaming art-deco concerto. When Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring was premiered in Paris a hundred years ago, it started a riot - it was violent, primal and thrillingly raw, and no-one had heard anything like it. A century on, audiences are still reeling from the aftershock.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Thu 9 May 2013 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.