Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Shell Shock

Noise: A Human History Episode 26 of 30

Shell Shock: Episode twenty-six of a thirty-part series made in collaboration with the British Library Sound Archive.

The rumble of artillery bombardment in Northern France could be heard as far away as Kent during the First World War. Up close in the trenches, soldiers experienced a sonic onslaught that continued night and day: howling shells, the machine gun's rattle, and the screams of injured men.

Professor David Hendy of the University of Sussex visits Flanders to relay echoes from the Front.

Signature tune composed by Joe Acheson.
Producer: Matt Thompson
A Rockethouse production for BBC Radio 4.

Release date:

15 minutes

Last on

Tue 24 Nov 2015 02:15

Noise retold by Matthew Herbert

Noise series retold by Matthew Herbert

The head of the New Radiophonic Workshop retells the Noise series using only the sounds.

Buy online

Buy online

Available on: Audio download

From one supplier: iTunes

Where to buy

Related Links