Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Donald Runnicles and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra play Rachmaninov, Britten and Shostakovich

Live from City Halls, Glasgow
Presented by Jamie MacDougall

Rachmaninov - Piano Concerto No. 3

Denis Kozhukhin (piano)
BBC Scottish Symphony Orhcestra
Donald Runnicles (conductor)

Donald Runnicles and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra start a two week Scottish Orchestra collaboration on Benjamin Britten in his centenary birthday year. The anti-war Sinfonia da Requiem is perhaps reflected in Shostakovich's 9th symphony, which wasn't quite the victory march that the Soviet authorities were expecting. In the second half the Orchestra invite back the brilliant young pianist Denis Kozhukhin to play one of the most technically challenging pieces in the repertoire - Rachmaninov's 3rd Piano Concerto.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Thu 18 Apr 2013 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.