Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Only the Sure of Foot

BS5 Episode 3 of 3

3/3: Only the Sure of Foot by Ian Madden, read by John Mackay. The last of three prizewinning stories from the Bristol Short Story prize held in the city for the last five years.

The Bristol Short Story Prize has been running in the city for five years, and attracts entries from all over the world. Only the Sure of Foot by Ian Madden won second prize in 2010. Set in the Highlands of Scotland after the war, it tells a quietly moving story of a long-standing family feud, and one woman's efforts to heal it.

Reader: John Mackay
Producer Sara Davies

Since winning second place in the 2010 Bristol Short Story prize, Ian Madden has won first prize in By Invitation Only: A Collection of Short Stories published to celebrate the inaugural National Short Story Week in 2010. He is working on a novel.

Release date:

15 minutes

Last on

Fri 12 Apr 2013 15:45

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from BS5


Role Contributor
AuthorIan Madden
ProducerSara Davies