Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Leif Ove Andsnes - Beethoven, Bartok, Liszt, Chopin

Live from Wigmore Hall, London

Presented by Penny Gore

The Norwegian pianist Leif Ove Andsnes has been described recently as 'a sensitive and quiet virtuoso'. He is currently immersed in the music of Beethoven, and here he performs two sonatas that are remarkable for their stylistical contrasts. Bartok's piquant Suite brings energy and drama, whilst the romantic worlds of Liszt and Chopin end the concert on a note of passion.

Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 22 in F Op. 54
Bartók: Suite Op. 14
Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 28 in A Op. 101

Interval: Interval music

8.40: Part 2
Liszt: Pensée des morts, S173 No. 4
Chopin: Nocturne in C minor Op. 48 No. 1
Chopin: Ballade No. 4 in F minor Op. 52

Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

"Beethoven's music is, for me, the most human and deeply spiritual music there is," observes
Leif Ove Andsnes. The Sonata no.22 is concise and seems to hark back to an earlier musical style, whereas the Sonata no.28 is more forward-looking, composed on a grander scale.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Tue 9 Apr 2013 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.