Image for Episode 1

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 1

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Monday 25 March 2013

Louise Fryer presents a week of programmes featuring the BBC Symphony Orchestra and BBC Singers in Russian repertoire and music for Holy Week. As part of Baroque Spring on Radio 3, the BBC Singers perform motets by J S Bach and his predecessors and successors in the post of Cantor at St Thomas's Church in Leipzig. The BBC Symphony play pieces by Prokofiev and his Russian forefathers and contemporaries.

Glinka: Overture to A Life for the Tsar
Conductor Mikhail Agrest.

J S Bach: Jesu meine Freude, BWV.227
BBC Singers,
David Hill (conductor),
Stephen Farr (organ).

Prokofiev: The Prodigal Son - Symphonic Suite, Op. 46a
Conductor Mikhail Agrest.

Sethus Calvisius: Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied
BBC Singers,
David Hill (conductor),
Stephen Farr (organ).

Rachmaninov: The Isle of the Dead
Conductor David Robertson.

Patric Standford: A Mass for Hildegard of Bingen
BBC Singers,
Conductor Paul Brough.

Tchaikovsky: Symphony no. 6 in B minor (Pathétique)
Conductor Jiri Belohlavek.

Music Played

8 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes


Free download

  1. Image for Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Guide to the Opera

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.