Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Mark Lockheart. Marius Neset Quartet

Julian Joseph presents concert music by tenor saxophonist Marius Neset and his quartet, recorded at the 2013 Southport "Jazz on a Winter's Weekend", featuring the stellar line-up of pianist Ivo Neame, bassist Jasper Hoiby and drummer Anton Eger. Plus an interview with saxophonist Mark Lockheart about his latest project 'Ellington in Anticipation' which sees him decontruct some of the Duke's most famous compositions and arrange these into a fascinating set of new music. The impressive line-up of the 'Ellington In Anticipation' project includes Seb Rochford (drums) Liam Noble (piano) Tom Herbert (bass) Finn Peters (alto sax), James Allsop (clarinets) and Emma Smith (violin).

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sun 17 Mar 2013 23:00