Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Lukas Foss, Goffredo Petrassi

Italian Goffredo Petrassi lived through all, if not most of the twentieth century's musical revolution and ferment, from late Romanticism, through neo-classicism to the avant garde. He took a particular attitude to music of the past and composed works that recast the musical idioms of former centuries in modern garb.

Goffredo Petrassi addressed the challenge of creating a new musical identity for himself against a largely late-Romantic background, by re-visiting the pre-Romantic past. His Partita for Orchestra consists of a Galliard, a Chaconne and a Gigue. His palette is one of rich orchestral sonority, not of pared-down austerity.

Goffredo Petrassi: Partita for Orchestra
RAI National Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Arturo Tamayo.

Release date:

45 minutes

Last on

Sat 16 Mar 2013 21:30