Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


Jonathan Swain presents Handel's dramatic cantata Aci, Galatea e Polifemo, with the Acadamy for Early Music, Berlin conducted by Rene Jacobs.

12:31 AM
Handel, Georg Frideric [1685-1759]
Aci, Galatea e Polifemo (Sorge il di) - cantata HWV.72
Sunhae Im (f) (soprano - Aci), Sonia Prina (contralto - Galatea), Marcos Fink (bass baritone - Polifemo), Akademie fur Alte Musik Berlin, Rene Jacobs (conductor)

1:53 AM
Bach, Carl Philipp Emanuel (1714-1788)
Concerto for 2 harpsichords in F major (Wq.46/H.410)
Alan Curtis & Gustav Leonhardt (harpsichords), Collegium Aureum

2:17 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Chaconne in D minor, from 'Partita No. 2, BVW 1004'
Hiro Kurosaki (violin)

2:31 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Clarinet Quintet in B minor (Op.115)
Thomas Friedli (clarinet), Quartet Sine Nomine

3:08 AM
Dvorák, Antonín (1841-1904)
V prirode (Op.91)
Radio Bratislava Symphony Orchestra, Ondrej Lenard (conductor)

3:23 AM
Schumann, Robert (1810-1856)
Adagio and Allegro (Op.70)
Arto Noras (cello), Konstantin Bogino (piano)

3:33 AM
Pierné, Gabriel (1863-1937)
Konzertstück for harp and orchestra (Op.39)
Suzanna Klintcharova (harp), Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra, Dimitar Manolov (conductor)

3:49 AM
Duparc, Henri (1848-1933)
La Vie antérieure
Gerald Finley (baritone), Stephen Ralls (piano)

3:53 AM
Duparc, Henri (1848-1933)
Le Manoir de Rosamonde
Gerald Finley (baritone), Stephen Ralls (piano)

3:56 AM
Leclair, Jean-Marie (1697-1764)
Violin Concerto in D major (Op.10 No.3)
Simon Standage (violin), Il Tempo Ensemble

4:12 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus [1756-1791]
Sonata for piano duet (K.381) in D major
Martha Argerich (piano), Maria João Pires (piano)

4:26 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897) arranged for orchestra by Dvorák, Antonín (1841-1904)
Hungarian Dance No.21 in E minor
BBC Concert Orchestra, Barry Wordsworth (conductor)

4:31 AM
Weber, Carl Maria von (1786-1826)
Overture - from 'Der Freischütz'
Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, Mario Bernardi (conductor)

4:42 AM
Handel, Georg Frideric (1685-1759)
Tornami a vagheggiar - Act I Scene 15 from Alcina
Nancy Argenta (soprano), CBC Vancouver Orchestra, Monica Huggett (guest conductor)

4:47 AM
Dukas, Paul (1865-1935)
The Sorcerer's Apprentice
The Hungarian Radio Orchestra, Adam Medveczky (conductor)

4:58 AM
Wagner, Richard (1813-1883) arr. Zoltán Kocsis
Concert Prelude to Tristan und Isolde for piano
François-Frédéric Guy (piano)

5:09 AM
Donizetti, Gaetano (1797-1848)
Una Furtiva lagrima' - Nemorino's Romance from L'Elisir d'amore
Volodymyr Hryshko (tenor), Ukrainian National Opera Orchestra

5:14 AM
Madetoja, Leevi (1887-1947)
Kullervo - symphonic poem (Op.15) (1913)
The Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Leif Segerstam (conductor)

5:29 AM
Lully, Jean-Baptiste (1632-1687)
Plainte d'Armide for voice & basso continuo
Isabelle Poulenard (soprano), Ricercar Consort, Henri Ledroit (conductor)

5:37 AM
Suchon, Eugen [1908-1993]
The Night of the Witches, symphonic poem
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra in Bratislava, Mário Kosík (conductor)

5:57 AM
MacDowell, Edward (1860-1908)
Hexentanz (Witches Dance) (Op.17 No.2)
Yuki Takao (piano)

6:00 AM
Ravel, Maurice (1875-1937)
Ma Mère l'Oye (Mother Goose) ballet
BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Richard Hickox (conductor).

Release date:

6 hours

Last on

Wed 13 Mar 2013 00:30