iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Quartet for strings no.1 (Op.51 No.1) in C minor by Johannes Brahms
Image for Baroque Remixed

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Baroque Remixed

1 hour, 50 minutes
First broadcast:
Monday 11 March 2013

As part of Radio 3's Baroque Spring, The BBC Concert Orchestra and conductor Charles Hazlewood offer a different Baroque experience in their 'Baroque Re-Mixed' concert from London's iconic venue in Camden, the Roundhouse. Will Gregory (Goldfrapp) and Matthew Herbert (Radiophonic Workshop) are writing new works based on a baroque foundation, and the concert also features two new reworkings of Purcell's Rondeau from Abdelazer, re-imagined in a contemporary idiom for the BBC CO by two young composers selected especially for inclusion in this concert. Swedish singer Ane Brun joins with her own Purcell adaptation and the concert ends with Stravinsky's neo-classical masterpiece Pulcinella.

Presented by Lauren Laverne and Andrew McGregor.

Thomas Adès: Three Studies from Couperin
Will Gregory: New commission
Ane Brun: When I am laid in Earth (Purcell, Dido and Aeneas)
Marisa Hartanto: Rumble to the Past
Anne-Marie O'Farrell: Rann Dó Trí
Matthew Herbert: New commission
Igor Stravinsky: Pulcinella Suite.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss