iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for BBC NOW - Schumann, Elgar

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC NOW - Schumann, Elgar

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Thursday 07 March 2013

Live from Cheltenham Town Hall

Presented by Nicola Heywood Thomas

John Lill joins the BBC National Orchestra of Wales to play Schumann's Piano Concerto and Jac van Steen conducts Elgar's First Symphony live from Cheltenham Town Hall.

Schumann: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op.54

8:05 Music Interval

Elgar: Symphony no.1 in A flat, Op.55

John Lill (piano)
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Jac van Steen (conductor)

Principal Guest Conductor Jac van Steen joins the BBC National Orchestra of Wales for two great Romantic masterpieces, from Germany and Britain, Schumann's Piano Concerto with John Lill and Elgar's First Symphony. John Lill is one of our best known and most popular pianists, respected for his fierce passion and romantic temperament. John brings his considerable talents to bear in Schumann's concerto, long a favourite with audiences, that broke new ground in the 1840s, entwining piano and orchestra together in a new way.

Elgar's first symphony was his first large-scale work, written in 1908 when he was already over 50. It's full of his famous noble melodies, all fused togeether with a remarkable unity. As a violinist, Elgar wrote with an "insider's knowledge" which makes the orchestral parts every bit as enjoyable to play as the whole symphonic sound is to hear. Elgar considered the orchestra as a mighty engine "the vehicle of the highest form of art known to the world". There's no better work than his first symphony to demonstrate that belief to its full, powerful effect.

followed by:
Music by Johann Sebastian Bach from the BBC New Generation Artists archive.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss