Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Orchestral Suites Nos 1 and 3

Live from St. Mary's Church, Shrewsbury

Presented by Tom McKinney

As part of Radio 3's Baroque Spring, The Academy of Ancient Music, directed from the harpsichord by Richard Egarr, performs Bach's Orchestral Suites - a series of grand and graceful dances, paying homage to the French baroque style as championed by the ballet-obsessed King Louis XIV. Written during Bach's years in Leipzig, where he had a wider range of instruments at his disposal than ever before, the Suites revel in new sonorous possibilities and employ varied combinations of wind, brass, stringed instruments and timpani.

Bach: Orchestral Suite No.1
Bach: Orchestral Suite No.3

followed by:
Music by Johann Sebastian Bach from the BBC New Generation Artists archive.

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Wed 6 Mar 2013 20:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.