iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Orchestral Suites Nos 4 and 2

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Orchestral Suites Nos 4 and 2

40 minutes
First broadcast:
Wednesday 06 March 2013

Live from St. Mary's Church, Shrewsbury

Presented by Tom McKinney

As part of Radio 3's Baroque Spring, The Academy of Ancient Music, directed from the harpsichord by Richard Egarr, performs Bach's Orchestral Suites - a series of grand and graceful dances, paying homage to the French baroque style as championed by the ballet-obsessed King Louis XIV. Written during Bach's years in Leipzig, where he had a wider range of instruments at his disposal than ever before, the Suites revel in new sonorous possibilities and employ varied combinations of wind, brass, stringed instruments and timpani.

Bach: Orchestral Suite No.4
Bach: Orchestral Suite No.2

followed by:
Music by Johann Sebastian Bach from the BBC New Generation Artists archive.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss