iPlayer Radio What's New?
On Now : Don Letts
Playing: Bass Culture by Linton Kwesi Johnson
Image for Joey Negro

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Joey Negro

2 hours
First broadcast:
Friday 01 March 2013

This week, Joey Negro digs deep in to his vinyl cellar and takes over the 6 Mix for a two hour special.

Joey Negro is the pseudonym of British DJ, producer and remixer Dave Lee who has also released music under other names, such as Jakatta, Akabu, Doug Willis, Raven Maize, The Sunburst Band, Sessomatto, and Z Factor. His production career began in 1988 and spawned a heap of hit singles, including 'Must Be The Music', 'Make A Move On Me', 'Can't Get High Without You' and Jakatta's 'American Dream' and 'My Vision'.

Intrinsically linked with the birth of Soulful house in the UK, Dave Lee set up the dance music division of Rough Trade, Demix and through this link, he began working with the Rhythm King label, which had had a number of hits with acts like Bomb The Bass, S-Express, Cookie Crew and Beatmasters. In 2011 Joey released "No Sugar", his collaboration with Gramophondzie and Shea Soul and it became one of the few tunes to reach the top 5 on both Beatport and Traxsource. Furthermore, 2012 saw Joey release a DC Funk compilation "GoGo Get Down" as well as a fourth studio album with his boogie funk act, The Sunburst Band.

In this show, Joey Negro steps up to the 6 Mix decks and takes over 6 Music with 120 minutes of dancefloor favourites and lesser known classics; ranging from some vintage gospel, reggae, nu disco to future house.

Music Played

62 items


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.