Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Philip Higham, Berlin Philharmonic, Marcus du Sautoy

Sean Rafferty's guests include rapidly rising young cello star Philip Higham - he'll be performing live in the studio with pianist Sam Armstrong.

Members of the Berlin Philharmonic will also be playing live ahead of their exciting concert at the Southbank exploring Berlin's cabaret scene in the 1920s and 30s.

Mathematician Professor Marcus du Sautoy talks to Sean about music and 'consciousness', plus playwright Roger McGough explains how to bring Moliere to the masses.

Also today, the conclusion of The Story of Music in 50 pieces. Composer Howard Goodall, in conversation with Suzy Klein, explores his personal choice of 50 compositions that changed the course of music history. Each instalment is available as a download.
Today: Steve Reich's Music for 18 Musicians

Main headlines are at 5pm and 6pm.

2 hours

Last on

Fri 1 Mar 2013 16:30
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss