On Now : Afternoon on 3
Playing: Symphony no. 5 in D major by Ralph Vaughan Williams
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Live from the Queen Elizabeth Hall, London

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Andras Schiff directs the OAE in works by Haydn & Mozart

Mozart: Piano Concerto no.9 in E flat, K.271
Haydn: Symphony no.98 in B flat

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Andras Schiff (piano & conductor)

Hungarian-born pianist Andras Schiff pairs arguably Mozart's first great concerto with one of the composer's late sequence of masterpieces. Mozart's friend and mentor Haydn's relationship with London was cemented with a series of twelve so-called 'London' symphonies, written on a grand scale and overflowing with Haydn's trademark invention and wit.

1 hour

Last on

Mon 25 Feb 2013 19:00
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss