Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


John Shea presents the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain playing a new work by Nico Muhly and Messiaen's Turangalîla Symphony at last year's BBC Proms.

1:01 AM
Messiaen, Olivier (1908-1992)
Cynthia Millar (ondes martenot), Joanna MacGregor (piano), National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain, Vasily Petrenko (conductor)

2:17 AM
Muhly, Nico (1981-)
National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain, Vasily Petrenko (conductor)

2:40 AM
Niewiadomski, Stanislaw (1859-1936)
Siwy koniu
Polish Radio Choir, Marek Kluza (director)

2:44 AM
Weber, Carl Maria von (1786-1826)
Perpetuum mobile (from Sonata No.1 in C, J138)
Konstantin Masliouk (piano)

2:48 AM
Wagner, Richard (1813-1883), arranged by Zoltán Kocsis
Concert Prelude to Tristan und Isolde for piano
François-Frédéric Guy (piano)

3:01 AM
Chopin, Fryderyk([1810-1849)
Waltz for piano (Op.34 No.1) in A flat major
Zoltán Kocsis (piano)

3:06 AM
Pierne, Gabriel [1863-1937]
Konzertstuck for harp & orchestra (Op.39) (1903)
Suzanna Klintcharova (harp), Sofia Symphony Orchestra, Dimitar Manolov (conductor)

3:22 AM
Saint-Saëns, Camille (1835-1921)
Septet for trumpet, piano and strings (Op.65) in E flat major
Ole Edvard Antonsen (trumpet), Elise Baatnes (violin), Karolina Radziej (violin), Lars Anders Tomter (viola), Hjalmer Kvam (cello), Marius Faltby (double bass), Enrico Pace (piano)

3:39 AM
Sweelinck, Jan Pieterszoon (1562-1621)
Psalm 137 for choir Netherlands Chamber Choir, Philippe Herreweghe (conductor)

3:42 AM
Sweelinck, Jan Pieterszoon (1562-1621)
Cantate Domino Canticum Novum (motet)
Netherlands Chamber Choir, Bernard Winsemius (organ), Peter Phillips (conductor)

3:45 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Brandenburg Concerto No.3 in G major for 3 violins, 3 violas, 3 cellos & basso continuo, BWV.1048
Australian Brandenburg Orchestra, Paul Dyer (conductor)

3:59 AM
Ravel, Maurice (1875-1937)
Jeux d'eau for piano
Paloma Kouider (piano)

4:04 AM
Balakirev, Mily Alexeyevich (1837-1910)
Overture on Russian Themes
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, Ondrej Lenard (conductor)

4:13 AM
Mussorgsky, Modest Petrovich (1839-1881)
Softly the spirit flew
Petteri Salomaa (baritone), Ilmo Ranta (piano)

4:16 AM
Mussorgsky, Modest Petrovich (1839-1881)
The Seminarist for voice and piano
Petteri Salomaa (baritone), Ilmo Ranta (piano)

4:20 AM
Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809)
Symphony No.73 in D major 'La Chasse' (H.1.73)
Romanian National Chamber Orchestra, Horia Andreescu (conductor)

4:41 AM
Piris, Bernard (1951-)
Deux Préludes for guitar
Heiki Matlik (guitar)

4:45 AM
Alfvén, Hugo (1872-1960)
Midsummer Vigil - Swedish Rhapsody no.1 (Op.19)
Danish National Radio Symphony Orchestra, Michael Schønwandt (conductor)

5:01 AM
Telemann, Georg Philipp (1681-1767)
Overture from Tafelmusik
Crispian Steele-Perkins (trumpet), Frank de Bruine (oboe), The King's Consort, Robert King (director)

5:08 AM
Couperin, François (1668-1733)
Rondeau: Les Barricades Mysterieuses
Colin Tilney (harpsichord)

5:11 AM
Fauré, Gabriel (1845-1924)
Clair de lune
Karina Gauvin (soprano), Marc-André Hamelin (piano)

5:14 AM
Fauré, Gabriel (1845-1924)
En sourdine
Karina Gauvin (soprano), Marc-André Hamelin (piano)

5:18 AM
Franck, César (1822-1890)
Le Chasseur Maudit, symphonic poem (M.44)
Bulgarian National Radio Symphony Orchestra, Milen Nachev (conductor)

5:32 AM
Vallet, Nicolas (c.1583-c.1645)
Carillon de village
Toyohiko Satoh (lute)

5:35 AM
Baermann, Heinrich Joseph (1784-1847)
Adagio in D major from Quintet no.3 (Op.23) in E flat major (previously attributed to Wagner)
Joze Kotar (clarinet), Borut Kantuser (double bass), Slovenian Philharmonic String Quartet

5:40 AM
Schumann, Robert (1810-1856)
Toccata for piano (Op.7) in C major
Francesco Piemontesi (Piano)

5:46 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Serenade no.2 in A major (Op.16)
Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony Orchestra, Raffi Armenian (conductor)

6:19 AM
Bruckner, Anton (1824-1896)
Ave Maria; Christus factus est; Locus iste (motets)
The Sokkelund Choir, Morten Schuldt Jensen (conductor)

6:32 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus [1756-1791]
Sonata in A major K.526 for violin and keyboard
Geir Inge Lotsberg (violin), Einar Steen-Nøkleberg (piano).

Release date:

6 hours

Last on

Sun 24 Feb 2013 01:00