Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Goehr, Ferneyhough, Christopher Fox

Ivan Hewett introduces the world premiere of Alexander Goehr's To These Dark Steps/The Fathers are Watching and talks to the composer. Plus Prometheus by Brian Ferneyhough (70 this year) and, to mark Tate Britain's 'Schwitters in Britain' exhibition, Three Constructions after Kurt Schwitters by Christopher Fox, originally composed for Radio 3's Between the Ears in 1993.

Brian Ferneyhough: Prometheus
Northern Sinfonia Wind

Alexander Goehr: To These Dark Steps/The Fathers are Watching
BCMG Sound Investment commission (world premiere)
Christopher Gillett (tenor)
Members of CBSO Youth Chorus
Birmingham Contemporary Music Group
Oliver Knussen (conductor)

Christopher Fox
Three Constructions after Kurt Schwitters.

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sat 23 Feb 2013 22:30