Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Innermost Thoughts and Meditations

This Sunday Rob Cowan looks at composers who open a musical window into their innermost intimate thoughts and meditations, with works by Bernstein, Janacek, Dvorak and Fibich. As it is Lent, there is no sacred cantata for the week, so Rob introduces the best known of J S Bach's secular works in similar style, the "Coffee Cantata". This week's single movement symphony is Shostakovich No. 2.

Release date:

2 hours, 57 minutes

Last on

Sun 17 Feb 2013 09:00