iPlayer Radio What's New?
Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra and Herbert Blomstedt
Image for BBC SSO - Turina, Bernstein, Ravel, Tchaikovsky

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC SSO - Turina, Bernstein, Ravel, Tchaikovsky

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Thursday 14 February 2013

Live from City Halls, Glasgow

Presented by Jamie MacDougall
Dancing and romancing from around the globe: the BBC SSO conducted by Miguel Harth-Bedoya perform Bernstein, Ravel, Turina and Tchaikovsky.
Turina: Danzas Fantasticas
Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

Interval: Jamie MacDougall explores classical settings of Robert Burns

Ravel: Piano Concerto in G
Tchaikovsky: Capriccio Italien

Ingrid Fliter (piano)
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Miguel Harth-Bedoya (conductor)

From City Halls in Glasgow, the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra are joined by Peruvian conductor Migual Harth-Bedoya to perform music inspired by the spirit of the dance, in Spanish composer Joaquín Turina's Danzas Fantasticas and Bernstein's Symphonic Dances from West Side Story.
The jazz inflections of Leonard Bernstein's Romeo and Juliet musical also resonate through the thoroughly French work of Ravel, in his Piano Concerto in G, performed by the Argentinian pianist Ingrid Fliter. And the concert concludes with a Roman carnival as reimagined by Tchaikovsky in his Capriccio Italien.

Music Played

1 item
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss