Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

In the final programme of highlights from the 11th Martha Argerich Project at the Lugano Festival, Martha Argerich plays Prokofiev's Second Violin Sonata with young French violinist Renaud Capuçon, and violinst Alissa Margulis leads a performance of Schnittke's Piano Quartet, based on a Scherzo fragment by Mahler. In this all-Russian programme, virtuoso pianists Sergio Tiempo and Karin Lechnier play Tchaikovsky's own arrangement of his Sereande for Strings in C.
Presented by Katie Derham.

Prokofiev: Violin Sonata No.2 in D major, Op.94
Renaud Capuçon (violin)
Martha Argerich (piano)

Schnittke: Piano Quartet, based on a Scherzo fragment by Mahler
Walter Delahunt (piano)
Alissa Margulis (violin)
Lyda Chen (viola)
Alexander Knyazev (cello)

Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings in C, Op.48, arranged for piano 4 hands
Sergio Tiempo & Karin Lechner (piano 4 hands)

Elizabeth Arno (producer).

Release date:

58 minutes

Last on

Fri 15 Feb 2013 13:00