iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Sinfonia concertante in E flat major for piano, mandolin, trumpet, d.bass & orch by Leopold Kozeluch
Image for Episode 3

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 3

58 minutes
First broadcast:
Thursday 14 February 2013

Martha Argerich is joined at the Lugano Festival by friends in a performance of Schumann's Andante and Variations for two pianos, two cellos and horn. One of the themes of the 11th Martha Argerich Project at the 2012 Lugano Festival was compositions based on composers' reworkings and, in the third of this week's four programmes, Godowsky reworks Weber, Busoni revises a Bach chorale and Gabriela Montero improvises on Gershwin's 'Summertime'.
Presented by Katie Derham.

Godowsky: Contrapuntal Paraphrases on 'Invitation to the Dance' by Weber
Nelson Goerner & Alexander Mogilevsky (piano 4 hands)

Schumann: Andante and Variations, Op.46
Martha Argerich & Mauricio Vallina (pianos)
Torleif Thedeen & Mark Drobinsky (cellos)
Vittorio Schiavone (horn)

Busoni: Improvisation on 'Wie wohl ist mir, BWV.271' by Bach
Christopher Falzone & Daniel Rivera (piano 4 hands)

Montero: Improvisation on 'Summertime' by Gershwin
Gabriela Montero (piano)

Elizabeth Arno (producer).

Music Played

4 items


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss