Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

The second of four programmes showcasing highlights from the 11th Martha Argerich Project at the Lugano Festival, including a performance of Dvorak's Piano Quartet played by violinist Ilya Gringolts and friends. Martha Argerich herself performs with pianist Mauricio Vallina in Busoni's arrangement of Mozart's Fantasia in F minor and talented siblings Alissa and Jura Margulis play Hubay's sparkling arrangement of a Hungarian Rhapsody by Liszt.
Presented by Katie Derham.

Mozart, arr. Busoni: Fantasia in F minor for 2 pianos, K.608
Martha Argerich & Mauricio Vallina (piano 4 hands)
Dvorak: Piano Quartet in E flat, Op.87
Polina Leschenko (piano)
Ilya Gringolts (violin)
Nathan Braude (viola)
Torleif Thedeen (cello)

Liszt, arr. Hubay: Hungarian Rhapsody, paraphrase on Lenau's 'Die drei Zigeuner'
Alissa Margulis (violin)
Jura Margulis (piano)

Elizabeth Arno (producer).

Release date:

58 minutes

Last on

Wed 13 Feb 2013 13:00