iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Episode 1

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 1

58 minutes
First broadcast:
Tuesday 12 February 2013

The legendary pianist Martha Argerich performs Brahms' Haydn Variations with Nicholas Angelich in the first of four programmes to showcase highlights from the 11th Martha Argerich Project at the 2012 Lugano Festival. Talented young artists and eminent soloists are brought together in Saint-Saens' Piano Quintet and a tango dedicated to Argerich.
Presented by Katie Derham.

Brahms: Variations on a Theme by Haydn, Op.56b
Martha Argerich & Nicholas Angelich (piano 4 hands)

Saint-Saens: Piano Quartet in A minor, Op.14
Alexander Mogilevsky (piano)
Michael Guttman (violin)
Alissa Margulis (violin)
Lyda Chen (viola)
Mark Drobinsky (cello)

Pietri: Piazzoweill Tango, arr. For piano 4 hands (premiere of this version)
Bruno Pietri & Muricio Vallina (piano 4 hands)

Elizabeth Arno (producer).

Music Played

3 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss