iPlayer Radio What's New?
On Now : Breakfast
Playing: Castor et Pollux "Suite" (compiled Bruggen)- Ouverture by Jean-Philippe Rameau
Image for 11/02/2013

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Monday 11 February 2013

Presented by Katie Derham.
On offer this week a wide and rich selection, mainly a mix of English and French repertoire, as we feature the BBC Symphony Orchestra performing live and in the studio. Also, the BBC Concert Orchestra with two concerts from their American tour this week; some chamber highlights from a recent day at the Barbican Centre in London celebrating composer Oliver Knussen's 60th birthday, and French Renaissance polyphony with the music of Dominque Phinot performed by the BBC Singers.
Today, David Robertson conducts Debussy's La Mer with the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Sarah Jane Bradley joins the orchestra in a new Viola Concerto by Matthew Taylor. Phinot's lamentations for Easter are followed by another concerto - a version for piano and orchestra of Brahms Violin Concerto with its arranger, Dejan Lazic as soloist under conductor Paul Kildea. More intimate music next with Oliver Knussen's Ocean de terre, for soprano and chamber ensemble, before we end with the Divertimento from Stravinsky's ballet The Fairy's Kiss - based on tunes by his beloved Tchaikovsky.

Debussy: La Mer
BBC Symphony Orchestra
David Robertson (conductor)

Matthew Taylor: Viola Concerto, Op. 41(Humoreskes)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Sarah Jane Bradley (viola)
Garry Walker (conductor)

Dominique Phinot: Incipit oratio Jeremaiae prophetae
BBC Singers
David Hill (conductor)

Brahms arr Lazic: "Piano" Concerto No. 3 (after the Violin Concerto)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Dejan Lazic (piano)
Paul Kildea (conductor)

Oliver Knussen: Ocean de terre, Op. 10
Guildhall New Music Ensemble
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Olivia Robinson (soprano)
Richard Baker (conductor)

Stravinsky: Fairy's Kiss (Divertimento)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Alexander Vedernikov (conductor).

Music Played

7 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Image for Oliver Knussen

    Oliver Knussen Trumpets Op.12 for soprano and 3 clarinets

  • Image for Claude Debussy
  • Image for Matthew Taylor

    Matthew Taylor Humoreskes for viola and orchestra

  • Image for Dominique Phinot

    Dominique Phinot Incipit oratio Jeremaiae prophetae

  • Image for Johannes Brahms

    Johannes Brahms Concerto (Op.77) arr. for piano and orchestra [orig. violin and orchestra]

  • Image for Oliver Knussen

    Oliver Knussen Ocean de terre Op.10 for soprano and chamber ensemble [rev. 1976]

  • Image for Igor Stravinsky

    Igor Stravinsky Divertimento arr. from 'Le baiser de la fee'



  1. Image for Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Guide to the Opera

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss